Lovecraft, racism, and the “Man of His Time” defense

Very interesting post on the horror writer and his penchant for racism (how embarassing would that be if you invited him to a fashionable dinner party now? Yes, I know he’s dead…)

I myself wasn’t quite prepared for it when I read his story Reanimator and, though I was shocked, I tentatively reassured myself that well, it was the past and everyone was racist. But was he, perhaps, just a teensy bit more racist than everyone else?

Have a read of the post on blog ‘Laughing at the Abyss’ and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Lovecraft, racism, and the “Man of His Time” defense

Leave a Reply

